Three to Five Ratio

todo-list-simple-hate-yourself-funny-ecard-ewZYesterday was one of those days where EVERYTHING annoyed me about my house.  It all started because my little boy accidently broke a miniature piggy bank that I have had since I was young.  I basically had a break down which in turn quickly developed into full-blown anxiety about adding a 5th person to this house.

Here’s where the 3 to 5 ratio comes in…

When we bought this house a little over a year ago, we didn’t really take into account that we would possibly be adding another human that comes with many belongings (let me tell you, babies have the most “things” out of ANYONE and they take care of NOTHING!).  Now, we are planning on purchasing another house in the next few years, BUT for now this house will have to do…

So after talking to a good friend who keeps me sane yet still allows me to moan and complain, her and I developed a plan for ME.  Here is how I am going to get rid of this anxiety and be able to live in this house without constantly thinking about the “stuff”…

First of all I am going to get back to making a “To-Do” list daily.  I use to do this when I became a stay-at-home mom, but some how the duty of actually writing out a list got away from me and I had just been trying to keep everything in my head.

Next, I am going to make a “Before Baby Arrives To-Do list”.  This will actually be prepared before the daily “To-Do” list and I will share it with my amazing husband so that MAYBE he can help tackle it before that little bugger holds the 5th spot in our house.

Another thing will be time without my kids so I can get these jobs done.  I struggle because I LOVE to spend time with them (I know I am with them 24/7 and feel extremely fortunate about that) BUT the ability to get anything done is virtually IMPOSSIBLE with a one-year-old and three-year-old constantly around.  My friend is amazing and has volunteered to come, kick my husband and kids out for a day or two (maybe three) so that hopefully a few checks can be checked off my “Before Baby Arrives To-Do list”.

And we will NEED to tell people no.  I am not one to turn people down and we LOVE to be around people, but we are traveling every weekend with two little ones.  Packing and unpacking for three people becomes such a chore, it makes traveling no fun.  We need to learn to take care of us, that people can come our way once in a while, and it is okay to say no sometimes.

Lastly, I need to relax and realize that I am only one person taking care (literally keeping them alive and happy) of not only two little ones daily, but three (growing one 😉 )  Keeping that into perspective should ease my mind and anxiety (hopefully!)planning-my-day-takes-the-entire-day-K1T

Thanks for stopping by!

~Kelsey~

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jkshilli says:

    I’m so proud of you Keltz! You’re doing an amazing job. Keep your chin up sister 🙂

    Like

    1. KPadgett says:

      Thank you! I am LOVING the bullet journal that you introduced me to, it is fun to do and even better when I can check things off.

      Like

Leave a Reply

